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Act No. 173 (S.243). Health; opioids; prescription drugs; Vermont Prescription
Monitoring System; acupuncture

An act relating to combating opioid abuse in Vermont

This act adds the appropriate prescription of controlled substances to treat
acute pain to the topics on which professional licensing authorities must develop
evidence-based standards and requires the licensing authorities to submit their
standards to the Commissioner of Health to review for consistency across health
care. It requires dispensers of prescription drugs to query the Vermont
Prescription Monitoring System (VPMS) and increases the frequency with which
dispensers must report to the VPMS from at least once a week to daily. The act
creates the 35-member Controlled Substances and Pain Management Advisory
Council as the successor to the Unified Pain Management System Advisory
Council and other advisory groups. It directs the Commissioner of Health to
adopt rules on prescribing opioids after consulting with the Council, which may
include number and time limits on pills prescribed, including a maximum number
of pills to be prescribed following minor medical procedures. It specifies that
prescribing physicians and collaborating health care and addiction professionals
may coordinate care for patients receiving medication-assisted treatment for
substance use disorder and requires health insurers and the Department of
Vermont Health Access to ensure that when telemedicine is used to treat
substance use disorder, both the treating clinician and hosting facility are
reimbursed for the services rendered. It expands the role of pharmacies and
pharmacists to include the practice of clinical pharmacy and allows health
insurers to pay pharmacists for providing services within their scope of practice.
It directs the Department of Health, in consultation with interested stakeholders,
to report on the appropriate role of pharmacies in preventing opioid misuse,
abuse, and diversion.

The act requires health care professionals who have a federal Drug
Enforcement Agency number or who dispense controlled substances to complete
a total of at least two hours of continuing education for each licensing period on
topics related to preventing opioid abuse, misuse, and diversion. It directs the
Department of Health to consult with the Board of Veterinary Medicine and the
Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets to develop recommendations on
appropriate safe prescribing and disposal of controlled substances prescribed by
veterinarians for animals and dispensed to their owners. It requires the
Commissioner of Health to convene medical educators to develop curricular
materials to ensure that students in medical education programs learn safe
prescribing practices and screening, prevention, and intervention for cases of
prescription drug misuse and abuse and directs the Department of Health to
establish a community grant program to support local opioid prevention
strategies. The act increases a fee imposed on pharmaceutical manufacturers
whose drugs are paid for by DVHA from 0.5 percent to 1.5 percent of annual
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DVHA drug spending and adds to the permissible uses of the Evidence-Based
Education and Advertising Fund.

The act requires the Department of Health to establish and maintain a
statewide unused prescription drug disposal program and directs BlueCross
BlueShield of Vermont to evaluate the evidence supporting the use of
acupuncture to treat pain and whether its plans should provide coverage for
acupuncture services. It also creates a pilot project to offer acupuncture services
to Medicaid-eligible Vermonters with a diagnosis of chronic pain. And the act
appropriates funds from the Evidence-Based Education and Advertising Fund to
the Department of Health for academic detailing, unused prescription drug
disposal initiatives, the purchase and distribution of opioid antagonist rescue Kits,
and reducing hospital-acquired infections, and to DVHA to implement the
Medicaid acupuncture pilot project.

Multiple effective dates, beginning on June 8, 2016
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